European Union Member States have agreed the wording of potential sanctions on Russia to be considered for adoption at a meeting of EU foreign ministers on Monday 17 March, have reported. This is the latest development in the crisis which began after Russia moved troops into Crimea in late February after the overthrow of former Ukrainian president Viktor Yanukovich.

According to, the proposed restrictive measures would require Member States to impose travel restrictions and asset freezes on persons and legal entities identified as being “responsible for actions which undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine”. This list will apparently include prominent members of the Russian parliament, as well as members of the security services and military establishment. For more information concerning Carter-Ruck’s sanctions practice, please click here

Blog arrow-right-alt